People & Groups

Center Coordinators

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Kainmüller

Spokesperson for Helmholtz Imaging & Head of Research Unit at MDC


Dagmar.Kainmueller@mdc-berlin.de

Prof. Dr. Klaus Maier-Hein

DKFZ


Prof. Dr. Christian Schroer

DESY


Prof. Dr. Martin Burger

Head of Research Unit at DESY

+49-40-8998-4565
martin.burger@desy.de

Prof. Dr. Lena Maier-Hein

DKFZ


Prof. Dr. Thoralf Niendorf

MDC



Engineering & Support Unit DESY

Our support team at DESY offers support and services to the Helmholtz Imaging Community. Our most prominent services are Helmholtz Imaging Modalities and Storage. We work on requests submitted to the Support Hub, on Collaborations, and directly support the Projects. Particular focus is on the early stages of the imaging pipeline. Research activities include development and application of deep learning methods for image analysis, e. g. segmentation, object detection and classification.

Dr. Philipp Heuser

Head of Support Team at DESY

+49-40-8998-4622
philipp.heuser@helmholtz-imaging.de

Dr. Engin Eren

Software Developer


engin.eren@desy.de

David Schwartz

Software Developer


david.schwartz@desy.de

Photo of Jennifer Ahrens

Jennifer Ahrens

Computational Imaging Scientist


jennifer.ahrens@helmholtz-imaging.de


Research Unit DESY

At the beginning of the imaging pipeline, data is acquired in a physical process measuring a metric which represents the interaction of a given probe with a sample. The physics of these interactions can be modelled mathematically. To form an image the model has to then be inverted, which is a challenging tasks due its ill-posedness, i.e. measurement errors leading to instabilities in the inversion or data being missing. Such so-called inverse problems are at the heart of almost any image formation process and their solution by modern regularization methods are the focus of the Research Unit at DESY. The goal of this unit is to strengthen the expertise in the mathematical field of inverse problems and to develop new modalities in specific domains by developing improved forward models, regularization methods and computational algorithms.

Prof. Dr. Martin Burger

Head of Research Unit at DESY

+49-40-8998-4565
martin.burger@desy.de

Profile picture

Danielle Bednarski

Research Assistant


danielle.bednarski@desy.de

Profile image of Lena Dunst

Lena Dunst

PhD Student


lena.dunst@desy.de

Profile photo of Ariane Fazeny

Ariane Fazeny

PhD Student


ariane.fazeny@desy.de

Profile picture of Samira Kabri

Samira Kabri

PhD Student

+49 40 8998 5914
samira.kabri@desy.de

Photo of Lorenz Kuger

Lorenz Kuger

PhD Student


lorenz.kuger@desy.de

Photo of Jin Liu

Jin Liu

PhD Student


jin.liu1@desy.de

Photo of Tim Roith

Tim Roith

Postdoctoral Researcher


tim.roith@desy.de

Profile picture of Kehan Shi

Kehan Shi

Postdoctoral Researcher


kehan.shi@desy.de

Photo of Alka Singh Chauhan

Alka Singh Chauhan

PhD Student


alka.singh.chauhan@desy.de

Profile picture of Lukas Weigand

Lukas Weigand

PhD Student

+49 40 8998 5916
lukas.weigand@desy.de


Engineering & Support Unit DKFZ

The Applied Computer Vision Lab, our support team at DKFZ, is dedicated to catalyzing research in Helmholtz and beyond through customized image analysis solutions. Specifically, we support researchers in the annotation of image data, build tailored AI algorithms to optimally solve their problems, provide out-of-the-box solutions that can be applied across domains and accelerate the development of new algorithms. Finally, we are dedicated to improving algorithm evaluation through organizing competitions, supporting the choice of appropriate metrics and evaluation schemes.

Dr. rer. nat. Fabian Isensee

Head of Engineering and Support Unit at DKFZ

+49 6221 42 2353
f.isensee@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Karol Gotkowski

Machine Learning Engineer


karol.gotkowski@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Photo of Ole Johannsen

Ole Johannsen

Machine Learning Engineer


ole.johannsen@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Ali Emre Kavur

Software Developer


a.kavur@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Lars Krämer

Machine Learning Engineer


lars.kraemer@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Dasha Trofimova

Machine Learning Engineer


d.trofimova@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Sebastian Ziegler

Machine Learning Engineer


sebastian.ziegler@dkfz-heidelberg.de


Engineering & Support Unit MDC

Our support team at MDC is developing generic image processing and analysis algorithms and tools. These tools are applied across all imaging scales from submolecular resolution to aerial remote sensing imagery. In order to provide a unified entry point for how to use these tools, we develop and maintain Helmholtz Imaging Solutions.

Deborah Schmidt

Head of Support Unit at MDC


Deborah.Schmidt@mdc-berlin.de

Profile photo of Jan Philipp Albrecht

Jan Philipp Albrecht

Research Software Scientist


JanPhilipp.Albrecht@mdc-berlin.de

Dr. Ella Bahry

Research Software Scientist


ella.bahry@mdc-berlin.de

Profile photo of Maximilian Otto

Maximilian Otto

Student Worker


Maximilian.Otto@mdc-berlin.de


Research Unit MDC

Recognizing the imaging pipeline and the needs of the imaging users and experts within the Helmholtz Association the MDC focuses on image data preparation, management and processing with a particular focus on the integration of image data, algorithms, and visualization solutions across multiple modalities and scales in space and time. The goal is to develop and provide Helmholtz Imaging Solutions that can deal with the very heterogeneous image data that are acquired across the research fields of Helmholtz without imposing constraints on the respective image modalities.

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Kainmüller

Spokesperson for Helmholtz Imaging & Head of Research Unit at MDC


Dagmar.Kainmueller@mdc-berlin.de

Peter Johannes Hirsch

PhD Student


Peter.Hirsch@mdc-berlin.de

Fabian Reith

PhD Student


Fabian.Reith@mdc-berlin.de

Xiaoyan Yu

PhD Student


xiaoyan.yu@mdc-berlin.de

Lisa Mais

PhD Student


lisa.mais@mdc-berlin.de

Josef Lorenz Rumberger

PhD Student


JosefLorenz.Rumberger@mdc-berlin.de


Research Unit DKFZ

Various challenges currently impede advanced AI technologies from directly benefiting society. The HI Research Unit at DKFZ pioneers research in three focus areas to address these challenges: 1) Advance to a deeper understanding and generalizability of algorithms (Focus Area Image Analysis), 2) Consider humans as an integral part of AI-application to enable reliable and safe deployment (Focus Area Human-Machine Interaction), and 3) Lead initiatives towards standardizing evaluation and benchmarking practices in the field and develop user-friendly tools to guide the community (Focus Area Validation Benchmarking).

Dr. Paul Jäger

Head of Interactive Machine Learning Group

+49 (0) 6221 / 42-3015
p.jaeger@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Michael Baumgartner

PhD Student


m.baumgartner@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Till Bungert

PhD Student


till.bungert@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Matthias Eisenmann


m.eisenmann@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Selen Erkan

PhD Student


selen.erkan@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Kim-Celine Kahl

PhD Student


k.kahl@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Lukas Klein

PhD Student


lukas.klein@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Carsten Lüth

PhD Student


carsten.lueth@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Photo of Tim Rädsch

Tim Rädsch

PhD Student


tim.raedsch@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Dr. Annika Reinke

Postdoctoral Researcher


a.reinke@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Jeremias Traub

PhD Student


jeremias.traub@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Tassilo Wald

PhD Student


tassilo.wald@dkfz-heidelberg.de

David Zimmerer

PhD Student


d.zimmerer@dkfz-heidelberg.de


Management Unit

We at the management unit of Helmholtz Imaging are responsible for the operation of the platform, the implementation of the strategy and the integration into the Helmholtz Association. In our team science and PR & outreach managers work hand in hand to coordinate the activities of the platform and the team play of its support and research units.
Organization of workshops and seminars, educational outreach, and the project funding line and facilitation of the meetings of the Helmholtz Imaging Steering Board and the Helmholtz Imaging Scientific Advisory Committee are just a few examples of how our team at DESY supports the community.

Dr. Sara Krause-Solberg

Scientific Coordinator

+49 40 8998 5527
sara.krause-solberg@helmholtz-imaging.de

Knut Sander

Platform Manager

+49 40 8998 5526
knut.sander@helmholtz-imaging.de

Katharina Kriegel

PR & Outreach Manager

+49 40 8998 5515
katharina.kriegel@helmholtz-imaging.de


Steering Board

The Steering Board supervises the Helmholtz Imaging Team. The board consults the platform in decisions relevant for Helmholtz Imaging as a whole.

PD Dr. Wolfgang zu Castell

GFZ


Profile photo of Heinz-Wilhem Hübers

Prof. Dr. Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers

DLR / Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin


Profile image of Angelika Humbert

Prof. Dr. Angelika Humbert

AWI


Prof. Dr. Christian Kübel

KIT


Profile photo of Francisco Garcia Moreno

Dr. Francisco Garcia-Moreno

HZB


Prof. Dr. Anke-Susanne Müller

KIT


Dr. Hanno Scharr

FZJ


Profile picture of Tony Stöcker

Prof. Dr. Tony Stöcker

DZNE



Scientific Advisory Committee

External scientific advice for the development of Helmholtz Imaging will be provided by the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). The SAC comprises national and international experts outside of the Helmholtz Association and also advises the Helmholtz Imaging Steering Board on all scientific aspects and the overall development of the platform. The members of the SAC are appointed by the President of the Helmholtz Association.

Prof. Dr. Joost Batenburg

Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI), Netherlands


Prof. Pier Luigi Dragotti

Imperial College London, UK


Prof. Michal Irani

Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel


Prof. Dr. Ron Kikinis

Harvard Medical School, Boston MA, USA


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Peter Maaß

Universität Bremen


Prof. Michal Neemann

Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel


Dr. Alexander Rack

European Synchrotron Radiation Facility - ESRF, France


Prof. Dr. Ing. Ribana Roscher

Forschungszentrum Jülich / Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn


Prof. Dr. Gabriele Steidl

Technische Universität Berlin


Prof. Dr. Michela Taufer

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA


Prof. Dr. Ing. Thomas Wiegand

Fraunhofer Institute for Telecommunications, Berlin